A Guide to The Shadowhunter Chronicles

Guide to The Shadowhunter Chronicles: Primary Works

The Shadowhunter Chronicles is one of the biggest series out there! Don't worry though, in my new blog series I'll tell you all there is to know!Any of you who’ve been following my blog or Twitter over the past few months, knows I’m a huge fan of the Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare. I’m still quite new to the fandom and there are just so many books. Like, “Hey! That exists?!” Yep, that was definitely me over the past few months. To anyone new to the fandom, like I was/still am, I’ve decided my new blog series is all about the Shadowhunter Chronicles! Part one: Primary works.

Primary works; the main books of the series. 

The Mortal Instruments

The Mortal Instruments follows Clary Fray, a Mundane who discovers she a Shadowhunter. Together with the Shadowhunters of the New York Institute, they go up against villain Valentine Morgenstern. Other characters in the series are Simon, Jace, Alec, Isabelle & Magnus.

I’m sure we all know The Mortal Instruments is what started the Shadowhunter Chronicles, but did you know there are about a billion editions?! Of course, there’s the UK and US editions and translations, hardcovers and paperbacks, but there are actually quite a few different covers! City of Bones is what started it all. Then there was City of Ashes and City of Glass! TMI was originally a trilogy, but was later extended to six books!

The Shadowhunter Chronicles is one of the biggest series out there! Don't worry though, in my new blog series I'll tell you all there is to know! 

The Mortal Instruments**
City of Bones | City of Ashes | City of Glass | City of Fallen Angels | City of Lost Souls | City of Heavenly Fire

The Infernal Devices

The Infernal Devices follows Tessa Gray. Tessa travels from New York to London and is dragged into the Shadow World because of it. With the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, she goes up against a Clockwork Army. Meanwhile, she finds out she’s not exactly a Mundane… Other characters in this trilogy are Will, Jem, Jessamine, Magnus, Charlotte & Henry.

The first Infernal Devices book was published after the first three Mortal Instruments books. The next two parts were released between the publication of the second part of the Mortal Instruments. The trilogy is a prequel* to the Mortal Instruments and takes place in the 1800s. Like the Mortal Instruments, there are a few different editions.

The Shadowhunter Chronicles is one of the biggest series out there! Don't worry though, in my new blog series I'll tell you all there is to know!

The Infernal Devices**
Clockwork Angel | Clockwork Prince | Clockwork Princess

The Dark Artifices

The Dark Artifices follows Emma Carstairs, her Parabatai Jules Blackthorn and his family. It’s five years after the events of City of Heavenly Fire and the relationship between the Shadowhunters, Downworlders and Faeries are not what they used to be. Other characters in this trilogy are Christina, Kieran & Malcolm.

 The Dark Artifices is the latest book in the Shadowhunter Chronicles. Book one, Lady Midnight,  was released in April 2016. The trilogy is a sequel to the Mortal Instruments and takes places in Los Angeles five years later. The book is still quite new, so the only different editions are paperback, hardcover and a special signed edition. I’m quite sure there will be more editions, like for a box set! Book two in the trilogy, Lord of Shadows, is expected to be published in 2017. The last book, The Queen of Air and Darkness has an expected release in 2019.

The Shadowhunter Chronicles is one of the biggest series out there! Don't worry though, in my new blog series I'll tell you all there is to know!

The Dark Artifices**
Lady Midnight | Lord of Shadows | Queen of Air and Darkness

The Last Hours

 Next to the publication of the last two Dark Artifices books, there will be another prequel trilogy called The Last Hours. It’s set in 1903 and will follow the children of the characters of the Infernal Devices. It’ll be much like TMI and TID, since the Last Hours will be the prequel to The Dark Artifices. The books in this trilogy are expected to be released in 2018, 2020 and 2021. This Wikia Page has some information and teasers for the trilogy. And, of course, Cassandra Clare has a page about it on her official website.

The Last Hours**
Chain of Thorns | Chain of Gold | Chain of Iron

Magnus Bane Adult Series

Recently, Cassandra announced an Adult series about Magnus Bane! You can read about it in this Hypable article. The series will be co-authored and is expected to be released in November 2017. Ha! That’s right around my birthday!

The Wicked Powers

As any series, the Shadowhunter Chronicles must come to an end at some point! As of right now, The Wicked Powers is set to be the very last trilogy. There are other sources of information about the trilogy. According to Hypable, publishing should start in 2020.

SPOILER ALERT: This Wiki page has some information on the trilogy.

* Reading order TMI/TID: Cassandra recommends on her website to read the Infernal Devices between City of Glass and City of Fallen Angels. I read the books this one and I can really recommend it!

** Links: Clicking on any link under the series/trilogies name will direct you to Goodreads!

What do you think about the Shadowhunter Chronicles? Have you read all the books?


  • Sara Strauss

    I read the first book City of Bones and didn’t end up liking it (I know, I must be the only person on the planet), but I think it’s really cool that there are so many cover variations! They’re so pretty!

    • Ayla

      You’re not the only one! My best friend got the book and put it down soon after starting it because she thought it was too much like Harry Potter!

      And I agree, the covers are beautiful! I kind of want them all, but it costs so much money! Hahah!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *